Buddhist memorials

A peaceful moment to talk about old memories of the deceased. I am waiting for you to prepare the best hospitality cuisine to help you in peaceful time praying for the deceased's deep in Tamaki.

A time to peacefully pray for happiness in the next world with those close to us We help you spend these important moments recalling memories of the deceased.

This is a meaningful time to gather together family and people with close ties to look back and think of the deceased and the changing seasons with the slow-moving Sagae River before you. Tamaki cordially offers assistance through devoted service and thoughtfully created dishes.

ご法要・ご法事料理|山菜料理 玉貴

Buddhist memorial dishes prepared with select seasonal ingredients

The passage of time, the passage of life. We carefully arrange the gifts of nature and serve them with excellent sake representative of Yamagata that have been nurtured by the four seasons. The blessings of nature pave the way for memories of the deceased.

ご法要・ご法事|山菜料理 玉貴

Use of the large hall

We provide a place to welcome guests who have ties to the deceased. Our large event room can accommodate up to 200 guests. Tables and Western-style seating are also available.

Schedule leading up to the memorial service

The following is a simple explanation of the schedule leading up to the memorial service, including preparations to be made. Please use it as a reference.

Sake and beverages


We have an array of beverages, including local sake, local beers, and wine produced in the prefecture. Try our aged Tamaki Original Yamabudo Eki (wild grape wine) as an aperitif to further enhance the flavor of the cuisine.

  • Takagi BreweryJuyondai Honmaru, Juyondai Tatsu no Otoshigo
  • Dewazakura Sake BreweryYukimanman Daiginjo, Ichiro Junmai Daiginjo
  • Gassan Sake BreweryHitokoe, Tamaki Original Junmai Sake
  • Chiyokotobuki Toraya BreweryJunmai Ginjo, Tamaki Original Shochu
  • Tamaki OriginalYamabudo Eki, Kokuwashu, Matatabishu, Umeshu, Nanakamadoshu, Mamushishu
*A variety of other beverages are also available in addition to those listed above.

Group shuttle bus

送迎バス|山菜料理 玉貴

A shuttle bus is available by request for groups arriving for various events, such as dinner parties, Buddhist memorials, and weddings. Feel free to request the shuttle bus when making a reservation.

Trivia about Buddhist memorial services

The memorial service for the dead called a 'hoyo' is a Buddhist ceremony in which the bereaved family prays for the repose of the deceased's soul, while 'hoji' includes up until the dinner after the hoyo. A hoyo is held to remember the deceased and pray for his or her soul, and there are hoyo memorial services held every 7 days after death up until the 49th day, as well as anniversary hoyo services held on the 1st, 2nd, 7th, 13th anniversaries, and so on.

Kinichi hoyo

Sho-nanoka hoyo

Originally, the hoyo held on the 7th day after death was the sho-nanoka hoyo, but recently it has generally come to be held after the funeral/farewell service.

Hoyo up until the 49th day

In Buddhism, it is believed that when a person dies, every 7 days the deeds that the dead committed in their lifetime are examined by the judge of the afterlife in 7 trials, and at the 7th trial (49th day) the judgment is handed down. These 49 days are considered a period of mourning and are viewed as particularly important days within the 'kinichi hoyo' (days after death). Lately, few people observe hoyo every 7 days (14–42 days), but even now family gather on the 49th-day hoyo and carry out the hoji.

Sho-nanoka 7th day, including day of death
Futa-nanoka 14th day, including day of death
Mi-nanoka 21st day, including day of death
Yo-nanoka 28th day, including day of death
Itsu-nanoka 35th day, including day of death
Mu-nanoka 42nd day, including day of death
Nana-nanoka 49th day, including day of death
Hyakkanichi 100th day, including day of death

Nenki hoyo (anniversary hoyo)

1st/2nd anniversaries

One year after death is the 1st anniversary (isshuki), and 2 years after death is the 2nd anniversary (san-kaiki). These two anniversaries are considered particularly important hoyo after the 49th-day hoyo.

Shotsukimeinichi (anniversary of death)

The anniversary of death the year following a person's passing is the 1st anniversary (isshuki), and a full 2 years after death is the 2nd anniversary (san-kaiki). Thereafter, the anniversaries are the nana-kaiki (6th anniversary), jusan-kaiki (12th anniversary), junana-kaiki (16th anniversary), nijusan-kaiki (22nd anniversary), nijunana-kaiki (26th anniversary), sanjusan-kaiki (32nd anniversary), goju-kaiki (49th anniversary), and hyakkaiki (99th anniversary).

Isshuki 1 full year after day of death
San-kaiki 2 full years after day of death
Nana-kaiki 6 full years after day of death
Jusan-kaiki 12 full years after day of death
Junana-kaiki 16 full years after day of death
Nijusan-kaiki 22 full years after day of death
Nijunana-kaiki 26 full years after day of death
Sanjusan-kaiki 32 full years after day of death
Sanjunana-kaiki 36 full years after day of death
Yonjusan-kaiki 42 full years after day of death
Yonjunana-kaiki 46 full years after day of death
Goju-kaiki 49 full years after day of death
Hyakkaiki 99 full years after day of death